Important Milestones

2019Diamond Jubilee celebrations started.
New Sports Complex with a total built-up area of 7,491 sqm inaugurated.
Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) coordinated.
2018HEFA grant to strengthen Central Research Facility, and infrastructural development fund received.
New academic and residential buildings about 54,840 sqm inaugurated (CSE, Chemical, Applied Mechanics, Basic Sciences, Library, Staff quarters and Girls hostel).
2017Lecture Hall Complex with a total built-up area of about 8,193 sqm.
Vertical extension of new Mechanical Engineering block (4th, 5th and 6th floors) with a total built-up area of about 6,355 sqm inaugurated.
TEQIP-III commences.
2016Centralized counselling for M.Tech/M.Arch/M. Plan (CCMT) coordinated by the Institute.
Installation of total 1MWp (1000KWp) Capacity SolarPower Plants at the rooftop of 18 existing buildings on RESCO model of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy through Solar Energy Corporation of India
2015Mentored IIIT Dharwad entrusted by MoE.
2014All the UG programmes got accredited for five years - Direct Admission of Students
Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) coordinated for five continuous years (2010-2014)
2012New ladies hostel with 347 occupants inaugurated.
2011New boys mega hostel with 1512 occupant inaugurated.
2010Prepared a strategic plan for the 2010-2020.
2009Golden Jubilee celebrations inaugurated.
2008Recognized as major QIP centre for all PG and PhD programs.
Centre of Yogic Sciences and Continuing Education opened.
2007Designated as Institute of National Importance.
Postgraduate program in ndustrial Biotechnology started.
2006Launch of Centre of Excellence & Relevance (CORE) in Industrial Biotechnology in Chemical Engineering Department funded by TIFAC, Government of India
2004Lead Institution status for World Bank funded Technical Education Quality Improvement Program (TEQIP) granted.
2003First annual convocation of NITK held.
2002Upgraded to National Institute of Technology Karnataka (NITK).
2000Undergraduate program in Information Technology started.
2000Lead Institution status for World Bank funded Technical Education Quality Improvement Program (TEQIP) granted.
1996Postgraduate program in Computer Science and Engineering started.
1995Central Computer Center established .
1994Postgraduate program in Industrial Pollution Control started.
Science and Technology Entrepreneurs Park (NITK-STEP), and Research and Development Centre for clay roofing tiles, bricks and other ceramics established.
1993Project IMPACT funded by Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, with World Bank and Government of India.
1992Postgraduate program in Power and Energy Systems started.
1990Postgraduate program in Materials Engineering started.
1988Postgraduate program in Computer Applications started.
1985Undergraduate program in Computer Engineering started.
1980Affiliation changed to Mangalore University.
1971Undergraduate program in Mining Engineering started.
1967UN special fund and UNESCO International experts assistance in the development of postgraduate programs granted.
1966Postgraduate programs in Industrial Structures, and Marine Structures started.
1965Undergraduate programs in Chemical Engineering, and Materials and Metallurgical Engineering started.
1960Founded as Karnataka Regional Engineering College (KREC) with undergraduate programs in Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Electrical Engineering affiliated to University of Mysore.