

### NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA SURATHKAL

## MINUTES

### OF

# 28th SENATE MEETING

- Date : 16.08.2011
- Time : 05.30 p.m
- Venue : ATB Seminar Hall, N.I.T.K., Surathkal MANGALORE PIN - 575 025.

### NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL 28th SENATE MEETING

Date: 16.08.2011

Time: 05.30 p.m. Venue: ATB Seminar Hall N.I.T.K., SURATHKAL.

### MINUTES

	MINUIES	
MEMBERS PRESENT:		
Dr. Sandeep Sancheti		Chairman
Sri Narendran Koduvattat		Member
Dr. N. Lakshman		Member
Dr.Gopala Mugeraya		Member
Dr. K.N. Lokesh		Member
Dr. G. Umesh		Member
Dr. M.K. Nagaraj		Member
Dr. A. Vittal Hegde		Member
Dr. S. G. Mayya		Member
Dr. A.U. Ravi Shankar		Member
Dr. M.C. Narasimhan		Member
Dr. D. Venkat Reddy		Member
Dr. K. Swaminathan		Member
Dr. R. Shivashankar		Member
Dr. M.B. Saidutta		Member
Dr. G. Srinikethan		Member
Dr. A. Nityananda Shetty		Member
Dr. Udayakumar R.Y.		Member
Dr. A.V. Adhikari		Member
Dr.A.Chitharanjan Hegde		Member
Dr. Santhi Tilagam		Member
Dr. K. Chandrashekar Shet		Member
Dr. M. Muralidhar Kulkarni		Member
Dr. S. Sumam David		Member
Dr. M.S. Bhat		Member
Dr. A.H. Sequeira		Member
Dr. K.B. Kiran	******	Member
Dr. S. M. Hegde		Member
Dr. A. Kandasamy		Member
Dr. K. P. Halemane		Member
Dr. Robert John D'Souza		Member
Dr. G.C. Mohan Kumar		Member
Dr. K.K. Appu Kuttan		Member
Dr. G. Ram Mohana Reddy		Member

Minutes

Page 1

Dr. P. Mohanan	 Member
Dr. H. Suresh Hebbar	 Member
Dr. K. Narayana Prabhu	 Member
Dr. Prasad Krishna	 Member
Dr. K. Rajendra Udupa	 Member
Dr. A.O. Surendranathan	 Member
Dr. Harsha Vardhan	 Member
Dr. Ch. S.N. Murthy	 Member
Dr.N.K.Udayashankar	 Member
Dr. Jagannath Nayak	 Spl. Invitee
Dr.Subhas C.Yarangal	 Spl.Invitee
Dr.Krishna Kant Prasad	 Standing Invitee
Dr.M.Govinda Raj	 Secretary

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Prof. S. Srinivas Murthy		Member
Prof. D. K. Subramanian		Member
Dr. P.V. Bhandary		Member
Dr. P.C.M. Kunhi		Member
Sri. Shrikumar Suryanarayana	n	Member
Sri. Sham Sadashiv Wagh		Member
Dr. P.P. Chikate	******	Member
Dr. G. K. Shivakumar		Member
Dr. Subba Rao		Member
Dr.Katta Venkataramana		Member
Dr. Varghese George		Member
Dr.D.V.R. Murthy		Member
Dr. K. Panduranga Vittal		Member
Dr.K.Chandrasekaran		Member
Dr. Ananthanarayana V.S.		Member
Dr. T. P. Ashok Babu		Member
Dr.Y.V.Rao		Member
Dr.V.Rama Sastry		Member
Dr. Kasturi V. Bangera		Member
Sri P.G. Mohanan		Member
Ms.Anusuya Chakari		Member

28<sup>th</sup> Senate Meeting

Minutes

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

#### Preamble:

The Chairman welcomed all the members to the 28th Senate meeting.

# A. ITEMS PLACED BEFORE THE 28<sup>TH</sup> SENATE MEETING HELD ON AUGUST 16<sup>TH</sup>, 2011.

#### Nomination of N.I.T.K. Faculty from Senate to the BOG to be reconstituted as per NIT Act 2007.

....

#### **Resolution of the Senate**

The matter was discussed in the light of the resolution, of the 23<sup>rd</sup> Senate meeting under item no: 23-Senate-C4 wherein it was resolved as follows: "After deliberations the Senate resolved to approve the continuation of the existing procedure of nominating the senior most Professor and Associate/Asst. Professor as a member of the BOG. The term of the office shall be for two years starting from 1<sup>st</sup> January and ending on 31<sup>st</sup> December of the subsequent year. The Senate further recommended that in case of two faculty having same seniority then the decision will be based on the seniority at the lower post held by the faculty. The matter to be reported to BOG."

During discussions it was clearly brought out that the subject being discussed is not of an administrative nature, but only to decide the senate representatives on the Board of Governors which is to be reconstituted for the first time in accordance with NIT Act 2007

It was also agreed that the decisions taken in this respect in the Senate would not have any reference to merit of faculty members in the Institute for any other purposes. The inter-se merit between faculty who have been promoted through CAS and faculty recruited through direct open selection is not being addressed in this context. In view of the situation wherein both the categories of nominees for the cadre of Professor and Associate Professor are having the same seniority (i.e. joining date / reporting date being the same in the current position) the matter was discussed.

28<sup>th</sup> Senate Meeting

Minutes

Hgrields

Page 3

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

After detailed discussions, the senate resolved that in case two persons have same seniority in a given cadre their inter-se seniority shall be based on the date of joining in the direct selection post at the lower level for the purposes of nominating to the BOG only.

After the Board is constituted as per NIT Act 2007, the issue of Senate representatives to the BOG and the criteria to be adopted may be discussed and decided in the BOG for all nominations in future.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

Secretary-Senate, NITK

(Sandeep Sancheti) Chairman-Senate, NITK

28<sup>th</sup> Senate Meeting

Minutes

Page 4