

Time : 02:30PM

Through: Google Meet N.I.T.K., Surathkal MANGALURU PIN - 575 025



NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL

POST SRINIVASNAGAR, MANGALURU - 575 025.

Phone: (0824) 2474 000 E- mail: registrar@nitk.ac.in/ registrar @nitk.edu.in

Fax: (0824) 2474 033/ 2474 039 Website: http://www.nitk.ac.in

Proceedings of the 56th Meeting (Through Google Meet) of the Senate of National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surthkal held on September 23, 2021 (Thursday) at 02:30PM.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

K. Umamaheshwar Rao	 Chairman
Ananthanarayana V. S.	 Member
K.V. Jayakumar	 External Member
N. C. Shivaprakash	 External Member
A. Nityananda Shetty	 Member
M. S. Bhat	 Member
K. S. Babu Narayan	 Member
U Shripathi Acharya	 Member
Vijay H. Desai	 Member
Jagannath Nayak	 Member
Vidya Shetty K	 Member
Lakshman Nandagiri	 Member
Subba Rao	 Member
Amba Shetty	 Member
P E Jagadeesh Babu (HoD)	 Member
M.B. Saidutta	 Member
Raj Mohan B	 Member
Uday Kumar Dalimba (HoD)	 Member
A. Chitharanjan Hegde	 Member
Badekai Ramachandra Bhat	 Member
Denthaje Krishna Bhat	 Member
Arun Mohan Isloor	 Member
B R Jayalekshmi	 Member
Katta Venkataramana	 Member
K. Swaminathan	 Member
S. Shrihari	 Member
Sitaram Nayak	 Member
Subhash C Yaragal	 Member
Shashidhar G Koolagudi (HoD)	 Member
K. Chandrasekaran	 Member
Annappa	 Member
P. Santhi Thilagam	 Member
Ashvini Chaturvedi	 Member

T. Laxminidhi	Momber
Sumam David S.	 Member
Muralidhar Kulkarni	 Member
Gururaj S Punekar	 Member
K Panduranga Vittal	 Member
B Venkatesa Perumal	 Member
Jaidhar C D (HoD)	 Member
	 Member
G. Ram Mohana Reddy	 Member
R Madhusudhan (HoD)	 Member
A. Kandasamy	 Member
Suresh M Hegde	 Member
Santhosh George	 Member
B. R. Shankar	 Member
Murulidhar N. N.	 Member
Shyam S. Kamath	 Member
S. M. Kulkarni	 Member
Ashok Babu T P	 Member
G. C. Mohan Kumar	 Member
Prasad Krishna	 Member
Gangadharan K. V.	 Member
Shrikantha S. Rao	 Member
Narendranath S.	 Member
H. Suresh Hebbar	 Member
S. M. Murigendrappa	 Member
K. Narayan Prabhu	 Member
Anandhan Srinivasan	 Member
Udaya Bhat K.	 Member
Aruna M (HoD)	 Member
Ch. S. N. Murthy	 Member
M. Govinda Raj	 Member
Harsha Vardhan	 Member
Ajith K M (HoD)	 Member
N. K. Udayashankar	 Member
H. D. Shashikala	 Member
M. N. Satyanarayan	 Member
Rajesh Acharya H (HoD)	 Member
Aloysius Henry Sequeira	 Member
K. B. Kiran	 Member
Shashikantha Koudur	 Member
Chairman - CCC	
System Manager, CCC	 Member
Mallikarjuna Angadi, Librarian	 Member
K. Ravindranath, Registrar	 Secretary

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Anjula Gurtoo	 External Member
B M Dodamani	 Member
Dwarakish G S	 Member
Kiran G. Shirlal	 Member
A. Mahesha	 Member
M. C. Narasimhan	 Member
A.U. Ravi Shankar	 Member
Varghese George	 Member
John D'Souza	 Member
Neelavar Shekar Vittal Shet	 Member
Shubhanga K N	 Member
Ravikiran Kadoli	 Member
V. R. Sastry	 Member

PREAMBLE:

At the outset of the meeting, Chairman welcomed all the members to the 56th Meeting of the Senate.

After a brief discussion, with the permission of the Chair, the Secretary Senate, began the deliberations on the Agenda Items.

Item No. 56.1: Confirmation of the Minutes of the 55th Meeting of the Senate held on 31.05.2021 through Google Meet – Reg.

The Senate resolved to discuss the matter and confirm the Minutes of the 55th meeting of the Senate in the next meeting.

Item No. 56.2: To consider the report on action taken on the minutes of 55th Meeting of the Senate held on 31.05.2021 through Google Meet – Reg.

The Senate resolved to take up this matter in its next meeting of the Senate.

auno

Minutes of the 56th Meeting of the Senate (through Google Meet) on 23.09.2021

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal.

- Item No. 56.3: To consider the item placed before the present (56th) Meeting of the Senate to be held on Thursday, September 23, 2021 at 02:30PM through Google Meet Reg.
- Item No.56.3.1: To consider and approve conferring the Honorary Doctor of Science, D.Sc. (Honoris Causa) to Sri. Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj, who has won the Silver Medal for Badminton in SL4 category in Tokyo Paralympics 2021 – Reg.

The Senate was appraised that: Honoris Causa degree/ doctorate can be awarded by Universities/ Institutes to those who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in their profession, a cause to be honored. It is the most distinguished honour that any University or Institute can confer to an individual to recognize their outstanding contributions to any field. As per Sec.6(1) (c) of the NIT Act (2007), the Institute can exercise power to confer honorary degrees or other distinctions. And as per Section 39 of NIT Statutes, Institute may confer honorary degrees for a few exceptional and outstanding persons for their illustrious contribution in their respective fields.

The Senate noted and appreciated the exemplary achievements of Sri. Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj. Invoking this provision, the Senate resolved to confer Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) [D.Sc. (Honoris Causa)] degree to Sri. Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj in the 19th Annual Convocation of NITK Surathkal, in recognition of his achievement in winning the Silver medal for Badminton in SL4 category in Tokyo Paralympics 2021 and his other multifaceted accomplishments.

Further, it was resolved to frame policies and guidelines for the conferment of Honoris Causa degree in the subsequent years.

Item No.56.3.2: To consider the Nomination of one faculty member from Senate to the BoG, NITK as per NIT Act 2007 – Reg.

The Senate noted the contents of the Agenda and approved nominations from Assistant Professors for the present term and resolved that the nominations are made alternatively between Assistant Professor and Associate Professor.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(K. Ravindranath) Registrar and Secretary – Senate, NITK.

(K. Umamaheshwar Rao) Director and Chairman – Senate, NITK.

Minutes of the 56thMeeting of the Senate (through Google Meet) on 23.09.2021