





MINUTES

OF THE 62nd MEETING OF THE

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

(Virtual Meeting through Google Meet)

- Date : November 23, 2020 (Monday)
- Time : 10:00AM
- Venue: NITK, Surathkal.

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL

POST SRINIVASNAGAR, MANGALURU - 575 025



Phone: (0824) 2474 000 E- mail: registrar@nitk.ac.in

Fax: (0824) 2474 033/ 2474 039 Website: http://www.nitk.ac.in

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF 62nd MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS (BoG) OF THE NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL HELD ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 23, 2020 AT 10:00AM THROUGH GOOGLE MEET.

Members Present through Google meet:

1.	Prof. K Balaveera Reddy Former Vice Chancellor – VTU, Belgaum, Veerabhadra Nilayam, H.No.10, 4 th A Cross, 2 nd Block, HRBR Layout, Kalyana Nagar, Bengaluru - 560043.	 Chairperson
2.	Prof. K Umamaheshwar Rao Director, NITK, Surathkal.	 Member
3.	Shri Madan Mohan Additional Director General (HE), Dept. of Higher Education, Ministry of Education (Shiksha Mantralaya), Govt. of India, Room No. 431, C-Wing, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi-110 115.	 Member
4.	Ms. Darshana M Dabral Joint Secretary and Financial Advisor, Integrated Finance Bureau, Ministry of Education (Shiksha Mantralaya), Govt. of India 120-C, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi - 110 115.	 Member
5.	Prof. A K Suresh Professor of Chemical Engineering and Dy. Director (Academic & Infrastructure Affairs), Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Powai, Mumbai – 400 076 [Nominee of the Director, IIT-Bombay].	 Member
6.	Dr. Shanth Averahally Thimmaiah Managing Director, METAMORPHOSIS Group of Companies, Prakruti Bhavan, #200, 1 st & 2 nd Floor, 40 th Main, 1 st Cross, BTM Layout, 2 nd Stage, Behind Silk board, Bengaluru – 560068.	 Member
7.	Shri G M Ravindra Managing Director, RKS INFRATECH Pvt. Ltd. No.42/36, "Rajani Towers", 3rd Floor 27 th Cross, 7 th 'B' Main Road 4 th Block, Jayanagar, Bengaluru – 560011.	 Member

8.	Prof. Subhash C Yaragal Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering. NITK, Surathkal.	 Member
9.	Dr. Prasanna B D Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engg., NITK, Surathkal.	 Member
10.	Shri K Ravindranath Registrar,	 Secretary

Hon'ble Chairperson welcomed all the members of the BOG to the meeting. A warm welcome was extended to the new member Prof. Subhash C Yaragal, Department of Civil Engineering, NITK - new nominee of the Senate to the Board. The Board placed on record the services of outgoing member Prof. Muralidhar Kulkarni.

With the permission of the Hon'ble Chair, the Committee began its proceedings.

NITK, Surathkal.

<u>BoG Item No.62.1:</u> Reading and confirmation of the Minutes of the 61st meeting of the Board of Governors held on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:30AM THROUGH GOOGLE MEET in the E-Seminar Hall, NITK, Surathkal - Reg.

The BOG noted the circulation of Minutes of 61st meeting of the Board of Governors among the members. The BOG resolved to discuss the matter and confirm the minutes in its next meeting.

<u>BoG Item No. 62.2:</u> To consider the report on action taken on the resolutions of the 61st Meeting of BoG held on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:30AM through Google Meet in the E-Seminar Hall, NITK, Surathkal - Reg.

The BOG resolved to discuss the report on action taken on the various resolutions of the 61st meeting of the BOG held on 15.09.2020 in the next meeting of the BOG.

NITK, Surathkal: Minutes of 62nd meeting of Board of Governors (Google Meet)- Date: 23.11.2020 Page 2 of 4

<u>BoG Item No. 62.3:</u> To consider the items placed before the present (62nd) Meeting of the Board of Governors (BoG) to be held on Monday, the 23rd November 2020 at 10.00AM through Google Meet – Reg.

BoG Item
No.62.3.1To consider the nomination of Prof. Subhash C Yaragal, Professor, Department of Civil
Engineering as Internal Member to the BoG, NITK amongst the Professor Cadre
selected unanimously from the Members of Senate – Reg.

The BoG noted the Senate approval for the nomination of Prof. Subhash C Yaragal, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering as Internal Member to the BoG, NITK amongst the Professor Cadre selected unanimously from the Members of Senate as per Section 11 (f) of NITSER Act, 2007; and passed the following resolutions:

Resolution:

The BoG noted the nomination of Prof. Subhash C Yaragal, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering as Internal Member to the BoG, NITK amongst the Professor Cadre selected unanimously from the Members of Senate as per Section 11 (f) of NITSER Act, 2007.

[Action owner : Registrar Timeframe : NA]

BoG Item	To consider the list of eligible candidates	approved by the Senate for the a	award of			
No. 62.3.2	B.Tech./M.Tech./M.Tech.(Research)/ M.C.A./M.B.A./M.Sc./Ph.D. degrees during the 18th					
	Annual Convocation to be held on Monday, the 23 rd November 2020 by Virtual Mode -Reg.					
	The Board noted the final List of B.Tech/ M.Tech/ M.Tech(Research)/ M.C.A/ M.B.A/ M.Sc/					
	Ph.D students/ Scholars who are eligible for the award of degrees during the 18 ^h Annual					
	Convocation to be held by Virtual Mode.					
	Programme	Number of candidates				
	B.Tech	763				
	M.Tech	491				
	M.C.A	85				
	M.B.A	23				
	M.Sc (Physics)	23				
	M.Sc (Chemistry)	26				
	M.Tech (Research)	17				
	Ph.D	121				
	Total	1549				
	After discussion, the BoG passed the following resolution:					
	Resolution:					
	The BOG resolved to approve the list of 1,549 number of students for the award of Degree					
	in 18th Annual Convocation to be held by Virtual mode on 23.11.2020, as recommended by					
	the Senate by Circulation held during the month of November, 2020.					
	The BoG resolved to place on record the achievement in awarding Ph.D. for 121 numbers of scholars.					

The meeting ended with Vote of thanks to the Chair.

10 23/11/2020 am

(K Ravindranath) Registrar and Secretary, BOG NITK, Surathkal.

(K Umamaheshwar Rao) Director and Member, BoG NITK, Surathkal.

(K Balaveera Reddy) Chairperson - BOG NITK, Surathkal.