Internal Complaints Committee Against Sexual Harassment

On 13th Aug 1997, the Supreme Court of India issued a landmark judgment , popularly known as Vishaka judgement that recognized and addressed sexual harassment at the workplace as a human rights violation. The Supreme court in its judgement said every women has a right to a safe workplace. The court gave directives for all employers/organizations making it mandatory to institute sexual harassment complaints committees at workplaces. The judgement also created sexual harassment prevention guidelines for the workplace. The sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act 2013 has replaced the guidelines/norms laid down by Hon' able Supreme Court on sexual harassment and came into force from 9 December 2013. The Govt. of India is yet to make rules for carrying out the provisions of this Act, 2013. However, in the light of enactment of The sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013,

The Competent Authority has constituted an Internal Complaints Committee at NITK Surathkal. The Internal Complaints Committee is responsible for:

  • Investigating every formal written complaint of sexual harassment
  • Taking appropriate remedial measures to respond to any substantiated allegations of sexual harassment
  • Discouraging and preventing employment-related sexual harassment

The Internal Complaints Committee shall inquire into the complaints as per the provisions of Section 11 of the Act, 2013. During pendency of inquiries the Committee may give recommendations as may be considered necessary under the provision of Section 12 of the Act, 2013 and based on these recommendations, the Competent Authority shall take appropriate action.

Policy of the Institute

It is the policy of the Institute to create and maintain an environment free from sexual harassment in the Institute. The Institute strongly disapproves of any conduct that constitutes sexual harassment. All students, faculty, and staff members are advised to report any matter related to sexual harassment to the Committee against Sexual Harassment. All complaints will be thoroughly investigated and appropriate action will be taken promptly. The Committee will maintain confidentiality within the limits of the law and will not disclose sensitive information to any individual except for those who have a specific need to know.

The Committee is planning to initiate many activities such as workshops, lectures, seminars etc. for sensitization of the staff and students on this issue.

Internal Complaints Committee against Sexual Harassment  of NITK consists of, 

Dr.Jayalekshmi B R, Dept of Civil Engg 
Dr. Aruna M, Dept of Mining Engg.
Dr. Devatha, Dept of Civil Engg.
Mr.Yogeesha, Accounts Section
Mrs.Parvathi, Cash Section
Mrs Anasuya C, Library
Mrs. Manjula. V. Prasad, JCI India (NGO member)


Contact Details

          Dr.Jayalekshmi B R, 
Chairperson (ICC-SH) &
Associate Professor
Dept. of Civil Engineering
NITK Surathkal
Ph: 0824-2473342
Back to Top